Effort to win title after 7 years absence by putting everything into the match  

The match to win the title for the second time after 7 years absence is about to start.
2010 Yamazaki Nabisco Cup qualifying round first sec against Jubilo Iwata will be held at Saitama Stadium at 19:00 o’clock on Wednesday 31 March.

Urawa Reds won the J. League 4the sec. match against Cerezo Osaka by 3 to 2 on Saturday 27 March and scored three points. Though it is still cold in the air, we would like to see lots of goals made tomorrow against cherry blossoms in the background.
Jubilo Iwata won the J. League title three times in 1997, 1999 and 2002. The team has also won first place once and second place three times in the Yamazaki Nabisco Cup in the past.
Jubilo Iwata has several good players such as their forward player Ryoichi Maeda who was the J. League’s top scorer last season. No Japanese player has been awarded the title since 2002 when Naohiro Takahara became the J. League’s top scorer. There is another forward player Lee Keun Ho who is one of the Korean National Team members. Their right side back player Yuichi Komano who is excellent in the offensive is also stable in defence and good at accurate crossing. Furthermore, Sho Naruoka is a chance maker.
However, it looks as though the team has not been blessed with much luck this season. Since the opening of the L. League match this season, the team has had one draw and three losses. The team ranks bottom at the moment. They last won a match against Kashiwa Reysol with the score of 2 to 1 on 3 October last year. Since then, the team has not been able to win any matches for nearly half a year except for the Emperor’s Cup (4 draw and 6 losses). Since the match will be a home match for Urawa Reds this time, the Reds should win the game against Jubilo to secure three points.
When speaking of the Yamazaki Nabisco Cup, we are always reminded of the fierce final matches the Reds played for three consecutive years since 2002 to 2004. So many Reds supporters still talk about the final match the team played in 2003. Urawa Reds lost the final match in 2002 against Kashima Antlers with the score of 0 to 1. However, in the following year, the Reds won the first title against Kashima Antlers with the score of 4 to 0. That match Urawa Reds and Kashima Antlers played is said to be one of the most beautiful matches ever played in the National Stadium.
Eighteen J1 teams will be playing in the Yamazaki Nabisco Cup and fourteen J1 teams except for four teams that are playing in the AFC Champions League will be playing in the Cup’s qualifying round.
The teams will be divided into two groups of seven teams and will play against each other during the first round. Then eight teams made up of two top teams from the first round will play in the final tournament. Urawa Reds is in group B along with Jubilo Iwata, Vissel Kobe, Shonan Bellmare, Montedio Yamagata, Shimizu S-Pulse and Yokohama F-Marinos.
The Yamazaki Nabisco Cup which is played along side the J. League is also known as a competition in which young players prove themselves. Not only will the team try to win the title again for the first time since 2003 but also the new players such as Genki Haraguchi, Spiranovic and Takuya Okamoto are expected to play well and develop themselves through playing in the Cup. Certainly, the Yamazaki Nabisco Cup will provide opportunities for all the players who have not had the chance to prove themselves yet in J. League matches.
The key to success will be to play “ball oriented soccer” which Team Manager Finke aims the team to play regardless of who they are up against.

[Urawa Reds Official Media (URD: OM)]